A Life More Beautiful

"'For I know the plans I have for you,' says the Lord." Jeremiah 29:11

“Jesus loves the brown children too….”

on March 20, 2012

Yesterday was overall a very long day! I received a call from daycare, yet again, that Camryn was running a fever…..AGAIN! When I was finally able to pick her up, her teacher (who I adore) told me that she had been fussy and coughing all day. Since it was too late for a trip to our pediatrician, I took a chance and we went to a local after hours clinic. Thankfully, we didn’t have to wait too long, but taking a tired 3 year old and fussy 11 month old to the doctor is never an enjoyable afternoon. The doctor’s diagnosis was “slightly injected” ears. Seriously, “injected”?!…..I had to keep from giggling since he said it four or five times. My confidence in after hours clinics really hasn’t ever been high, but at least most other doctors can pronounce “inFected” (end of side rant).

So, we finally made it out of the clinic with our prescription, and my (wonderful) mom came over to watch the girls so I could get it filled. After once again having my faith in this doctor lowered (he prescribed a prescription strength that doesn’t exist..lovely), I finally made it home with some medicine to hopefully help my miserable baby girl. Poor Camryn was terribly fussy, and one of the best ways to calm her down is to sing to her. So, Brynlee and I were singing every song we could think of…..from “We love our Camryn” to The Fresh Beat Band….I ended up singing “Jesus Loves the Little Children,” and that’s when Brynlee, in her usual fashion, brought a huge smile to my long day.

I was singing the song like I always have since I was a little girl, “Jesus loves the little children. All the children of the world. Red, and yellow, black, and white….” “WAIT, MOM!!!” she yelled. “What’s wrong, Brynlee?” “Mommy, Jesus loves the brown children too!”

So, we now sing “Red, yellow, black, white, and brown, they are precious in His sight!”  I love how you never know what a little one is going to say….and how their sweet innocence and concern can always brighten your day.

One response to ““Jesus loves the brown children too….”

  1. jamielynnthornton says:

    Poor little girl! I’m glad big sis was there to help.

Leave a Reply

