#write31days

Day #4…one day late…oops!

Song lyrics have always caught my attention. Jason, on the other hand, is drawn to the beat of a song. He may only understand one-third of the lyrics to a song, but he can recognize a song two measures into it. Road trips with the two of us are pretty interesting between loud off-key singing, ridiculous dance moves and Jason butchering lyrics. Recently, I found a Casting Crowns cd in my car and started listening to it. I recognized a few of the songs from the radio, but then I got to the song Dream for You. I have included the lyrics to the chorus below:

“So come on, let Me dream, let Me dream for you
I am strong when you’re weak and I’ll carry you
So let go of your plan, be caught by My hand
I’ll show you what I can do
When I dream for you
I have a dream for you”

When you are growing up, people love to ask what you want to be when you grow up. Once you are a grown up, people ask about your dream job. If I’m being honest, my dream job would be a hybrid of being an elementary school version of Michelle Pfeiffer in Dangerous Minds, being a professional writer and being a full-time mommy! Granted, I don’t think it’s possible to combine those three, but if we are dreaming, I might as well dream big!!

Which brings me back to the song lyrics! (See, I wasn’t aimlessly rambling!!) The verses of the song talk about David and Mary and what may have been their original dreams for their lives. David was only planning to spend his life as a shepherd, while Mary was planning a future with Joseph…..and then God shows up with his life-altering dreams for them.

Do you really think young David realized that killing a lion and a bear would prepare him to kill a literal GIANT?!? Or did Mary (a VIRGIN!!!) expect to be a pregnant teenager carrying the Messiah?? I can answer pretty confidently that they had completely different dreams and expectations.

So, my “less” for today is to focus less on my own dreams for my family and to strive to find God’s dreams for our family. I have no clue what he has planned for the four of us, but I’m super excited to find out!!

“I’m stronger than you think I am
I’ll take you farther than you think you can
You sing and call me Great I Am
So take your stand
My child, if you only knew
All the plans that I have for you
Just trust me, I will follow through
You can follow Me!!”

“He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.” John 3:30 (New Living Translation)

Leave a Reply

