A Life More Beautiful

"'For I know the plans I have for you,' says the Lord." Jeremiah 29:11

Day #7….Less social media, less writing, but lots of great memories!

on October 13, 2015

This weekend, we went to Mississippi for a friend’s wedding reception. On our three hour road trip, we listened to random radio stations, sang incredibly loudly and off-key and I’m pretty certain our girls felt like our dancing should have been considered child abuse! But, we had fun!

The next morning, we woke up and realized that in 31 years, I have not learned to check the forecast when I’m packing an overnight bag. We left the hotel in shorts, t-shirts and flip flops in drizzly 65 degree weather….and along with our crazy, best friends decided to go hiking. One quick shopping trip later, and we all had long sleeved shirts and were ready to take on a hike. A smart person would have bought shoes too, but this cheap girl decided to hike in flip flops…. 🙂

photo 2

Jason and our girls would hike every day, as long as they were allowed to take their best friends with them, and I’m slowly learning to feel the same way! I NEVER would have imagined that I would enjoy hiking!! Give me a good book, a shopping trip or a good romantic comedy any day, and I’ll pick it over clomping through the woods with bugs and dirt.

photo 3

That is, until our friends drug me on our first hiking trip….now we end up in the woods on every trip we take. And I’m slowly learning to enjoy the great (or at least okay) outdoors.

photo 4

This weekend may not have included me taking time to catch up on writing, but it definitely included making great memories with some of my favorite people!

12072762_1324619587565214_7451404968420190959_n

And I wouldn’t trade that time for anything….not even for being caught up on my 31 day challenge! (I’m just ignoring the fact that I’m just now posting Day 7, and it’s October 13th!)

photo 1

“He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.” John 3:30 (New Living Translation)

Leave a Reply

