A Life More Beautiful

"'For I know the plans I have for you,' says the Lord." Jeremiah 29:11

Day #8….Less of all the girl drama

on October 16, 2015

Let me start by saying that I may just quit numbering these days….it’s getting depressing at this point. If I’m honest, by the time I have worked all day, picked up our girls, made dinner, found the couch under the laundry (again), played with the girls and hung out with Jason, I’m kinda just done. Sitting down to write has taken a back seat to extra books with the girls at bedtime or an extra show knocked off the DVR with Jason….but I digress…

I have had several conversations with girl friends lately that have had me thinking….what is the deal with all of us?! And I mean that in the nicest way that you can take it, I promise. What is it in female DNA that makes us so critical of ourselves?

In 30 seconds, I could take a Sharpie and mark every ounce of extra fat on my body…where I would like to take it from and where I would like to transplant it to….I could circle every wrinkle that is starting to form on my face (I’m too young for this!!!)…I could circle the jiggle that has taken over my arms or the “fat pack” which some idiot ironically named love handles.

And it seems I would be hard-pressed to find another female that doesn’t do the same thing!!

Even my four and six year old want to be cute and have long “Rapunzel” hair.

girls1

But then I started thinking about a verse that all of the kids learned in Adventure Kids several months ago…..

“For we are God’s MASTERPIECE!!!” HIS masterpiece!! No, I don’t have amazing, awesome (natural) red hair like my friend at work….no, I’m not a size 2 anymore….no, I don’t look cute in everything that I wear like my best friend. Just as I am, I’m GOD’S masterpiece! How awesome is that?! Just like each artist has a unique style, God created each masterpiece (US) different from the next. We wouldn’t want a whole world full of Picasso paintings, right?

I’ve had two girls, so I’m not the size 2 that I was when we got married….but I’ve had two beautiful amazing girls!!

I’m far from being a supermodel…..but I have a husband that still thinks I’m pretty cute, most days 😉

I’m definitely not toned and tanned like I would like, but ya know what….it’s okay! I have a family that loves me, and I know that God has an awesome plan for all of us just.how.HE.made.us!! Granted, I will still always secretly dream of looking like Sophia Bush, but I’ll be the best me that I can be without dissecting every little flaw. So, NO MORE GIRL DRAMA….at least until swimsuit season rolls around again 🙂

just us

“He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.” John 3:30 (NLT)

5 responses to “Day #8….Less of all the girl drama

  1. Sherry Ingram says:

    I was just talking to Denise and Doris about women being dissatisfied with their looks.

    Sherry Ingram

  2. I thought I was the only one that did that. And….I think you are beautiful, just as you are, long slim legs, I see NO wrinkles, a body that supermodels would love to have, a husband that adores you, 2 little girls that want to be just like mommy when they grow up, a mom who dotes on you and is so proud of the godly daughter, wife and mom that you are. God made you, and he does NOT make junk. You are His masterpiece, no one can do what He designed you to do.
    Prayers for you and yours

  3. Wynell says:

    I know that God has a sense of humor….because I am definitely uniquely made…. But…. like you said, God has an awesome plan for all of us just.how.HE.made.us!! so that means The Best Is Yet to Come!

Leave a Reply

