A Life More Beautiful

"'For I know the plans I have for you,' says the Lord." Jeremiah 29:11

32…Really?!?!

on April 25, 2016

Ok, so let me start by saying that I do realize that 32 is far from old…unless you ask our girls…HOWEVER, to see the age 32 linked to my age is just a little weird. As of tomorrow morning, I will officially be 32 (ick!).

In my 31.9999 years, I have cried, laughed and loved more than I would have ever imagined. I can’t wait to see what the rest of this story holds…which brings me to the reason for this post. I have been toying with this post for several months, but as a friend said several months ago, “Don’t sing the words to the song Oceans if you don’t really mean it.” Well, here I am at 31 years and 364 days old, I can truly say that I mean these words.

Our girls love a singer named Blanca, and the bridge to her song Echo stood out to me the first time that I ever heard it.

“Whatever You ask
Whatever You want
Use me
Choose me
Wherever You go
I wanna go too
Till I echo, echo You
Whatever You ask
Whatever You want
Use me for Your glory
Wherever You go
I wanna go too
Till I echo You!!”

The words were an instant challenge and honestly, they were a little scary to sing out loud. Am I really willing to do whatever He asks? Will I really go wherever He asks in order to make His mark and not my own? Will I continue to strive to follow my own plan or will I surrender those plans to Him in faith that His ways really are so much higher than my own nearsighted ideas for my life? It’s scary, but here I stand on the edge of another birthday….and my answer is yes! Not a tentative yes, but a firm YES! Here I am, and I know that I’m here for His purpose….whatever that may be.

Jason and I, along with our closest friends, have been talking for well over a year about wanting to do something that really, truly matters. Well, I want this to be the year that I truly live out the words above. I am most definitely a fragile work in process; a work that some days has a glimmer of Jesus slip through, but that usually looks much more like my selfish self shining way too brightly. I want to become an echo and reflection of Jesus, so that when people see me they truly see His love shining back at them.

I don’t know what God has planned for our lives, but I pray that each day I make a conscious effort to show Jesus and His love to all those that I encounter…whether it be a griping car dealer on the phone, a co-worker that I pass on a daily basis, the people in the produce aisle at the grocery and especially this wonderful family that I do life with everyday!! I want this to be the year that as a mom and as a family we become a clear and loud echo of Jesus!!

“He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.” John 3:30 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

